The Joy of Streaking

No, I haven’t signed up for one of those nude 5k races. I honestly don’t think I could go through with it, although it would be fun to stand at a starting line of such a race without even running shoes on, point to someone else’s running shoes and sanctimoniously say “Cheater…”

The type of streak I’m referring to is consecutive days of running at least one mile. I’ve been doing one for some time and I’ve found that it’s been exactly the right type of motivation for me.

Self discipline has always been one of my areas for improvement. Typically, I’d run all summer and the spend the entire winter with very minimal running, only to start again at square one when it starts to get warm. By the time summer would roll around, I still wouldn’t be where I thought I should be, and then after Thanksgiving, my motivation to keep with it would vanish like the leaves from the trees.

I don’t recall how I first heard of streak running, but I soon after found the United States Running Streak Association. runeveryday.com/ Hmmm. For $20 per year, I could have my name on their list within 12 months if I’m able to do it. Well, I don’t need to spend money and join a club just to give it a try. Besides, I could always make up my mind later.

I decided that I would start the streak after my wife ran her first half marathon in June, 2011. I also thought it would be a good idea to start after I returned from a camping trip on Lake Umbagog where I knew I would have no opportunity to run (we were at a wooded site on the lake with no nearby logging roads).

June 12, 2011 was the start of the first streak. This was perfect. It was just the right amount of motivation to get moving in the morning without any real pressure. I would allow plenty of time, start running, and I always knew at the half mile turn around point if I felt like doing more. If not, no problem. Tomorrow’s another day. No real pressure, and enough motivation to get out the door. Perfect!

All was going well for 140 days until I pinched my sciatic nerve (badly) while running in a hotel treadmill in Keene, NH. I ended up missing work and staying home for two days and I couldn’t even walk for most of that time. Believe me, I developed an appreciation for people who live with and suffer from severe back pain.

But then the physical pain is one thing. Having started on a streak like this and having to stop for reasons beyond my control was additionally painful.

The following weekend was the Manchester NH Marathon, and I was supposed to run one of the four relay legs on a team. I drove the van for the team that I was supposed to be on, which was probably more painful emotionally than the injury itself was physically.

About 3 weeks later was November 21, 2011. I was going stir crazy and I was determined to start something again SOMEHOW. My left quadriceps was still a little numb and tingly, but responsive enough to eke out a mere mile. A little Vitamin I (ibuprofen) at bedtime each night and I continued to improve.

As George Harrison might have said, “All things must pass”.  Some stretching and core work and the angry nerve kept fading.  Every now and then, I’ll feel a twinge as if it’s asking “Hey…  Remember me?”

As of today, the streak is up to 627 days.  Joan Benoit Samuelson is right.  There really is no finish line.

Keep running, my friends.

Leave a comment